RSS

New Tune Tuesday-April 12th, 2011

12 Apr

It is good to be back after an unintended break.

The year was 1991, and I drove myself to my local music store in my 1975 Chevy Malibu Classic.  For no good reason that I can recall now, I decided to purchase two tapes.  They were Toad the Wet Sprocket’s “Fear” and Pearl Jam’s “Ten”.

The best part about these two purchases is that I will not apologize for them today.  I have listened to them both in the last year and they both hold up.  They for sure held up better than the tapes that I eventually wore out.  That day, and those two tapes, started me on a musical journey that continues today.  When all other forms of expression fail, music says what is necessary.  It can be the primary thought, the undercurrent, or the background track running in your life.  After that first music purchase there is one day of the week that has become very special to me.  Tuesday is new music release day.  I used to drive to my local Wherehouse and stand in the isles every Tuesday going through the music.  One of the beautiful luxuries about the internet is that I don’t have to go to a store to discover new music, and in fact, if I stay at home it will usually work out better for me.  One store can only have so much, where as the internet can have it all if you know where to look.

On some/most/a few Tuesdays I will take the time to mention music that is coming that means something.

This week’s mention is big enough that it get’s top billing and solo status.

The Foo Fighters are a band that formed in 1994, shortly after the death of Kurt Cobain and the demise of his band, Nirvana.  Dave Grohl, the drummer for Nirvana, decided to take the 40+ songs that he had written by himself and release them under the name, Foo Fighters with the album of the same name.  Since then, they have released 5 more albums (until today).  All of their albums have been Grammy Nominated and three of them have won Best Rock Album.  “Wasting Light” is their newest album, and from preview listens, continues them on their road as one of the most solid rock acts around.

Even if you don’t like the Foo, you have to appreciate the fact that Dave Grohl has now been in two of the biggest musical acts ever.  I find it interesting that Kurt Cobain is considered the musical genius behind Nirvana, and that may still be true.  Grohl has now been in TWO bands of that status and influence.  He went from a drum kit, to become one of the most prolific front men and song writers in music today.  You start to get a sense it is not a mistake and the greatness of Nirvana cannot only be attributed to Cobain alone.

Enjoy Wasting Light, tell me I’m right or wrong, and bring out your Seattle grunge flannel in honor of the Foo heritage.  I, for one, am going become the boy that drove to the music store all over again today.  It is nice that I get to feel that way every Tuesday.

As a follow up, this is more evidence that Foo is not scared and might be THE best rock band today if not close to ever.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 12, 2011 in Foo Fighters, music

 

3 responses to “New Tune Tuesday-April 12th, 2011

  1. adam

    April 12, 2011 at 11:31 am

    such a good rock album!! it will be getting some serious play time the coming weeks!

     
  2. catalpike

    April 13, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    My wife hates it when I start playing my Toad the Wet Sprocket. She just doesn’t get it… 🙂

     
    • The Until Matters

      April 14, 2011 at 12:14 am

      As the years pass more and more don’t get it, but we do…we do.

       

Leave a Reply

 
