RSS

Today my son graduates

10 Jun

It is a proud day in the Bachman household.  Our son is graduating…from pre-school.

I know this is just the first in a long line of milestones for him as our son and for all of our children for that matter.  This one holds special meaning for a few reasons.  Mostly having to do with the year we had with Jackson.  Earlier this year, he was diagnosed with Autism.  (You can read an earlier post that walks through that process).  This was also the year that he went from being in a Special Day Class to integrated into a  mainstreamed classroom.  As that is the goal for our child, this was an unknown year for us.  We didn’t know if he would make it.  I believe in my boy and the teachers in charge of him, but I didn’t know if the two could co-exist.  Finally, before he could go onto kindgergarden we had to make sure he was able to handle a classroom where he might get a little lost or overlooked.

Because of his fantastic teaching staff he was not overlooked, and though he got a little lost that was part of his process of being found.  He can now read, write his name, and he will try new things which was rare.

I thought you would like to see the short video of Jackson being asked what he wanted to be when he grew up.  I also added the transcription of it, in case you get lost.

“I’d like to be a police and stay in the office for a hundred hours and do some pictures by myself”

I continue to wonder what the future is going to be for this little boy, but I am more sure today than yesterday that he is going to be just fine.  His story will differ from others, just like anyone’s will.  However, he will shine in areas that others will not and can not.  I am a better dad and person because of my five year old son.  Way to be my future Police office 100 Hour Working Drawer!

 

5 responses to “Today my son graduates

  1. analyfe

    June 10, 2011 at 11:17 am

    This was too cute! 🙂

     
  2. Shannon Beery

    June 10, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    Congratulations Jackson! The Beery’s are proud of you … and we’re proud of your mom and dad too!

     
  3. Veronica Stumpf

    June 19, 2011 at 10:24 am

    Your son must have come a long way! Looking at the video he seems outgoing and clever.

    Congratulations!

     

Leave a Reply

 
