RSS

(not so) New Tune Tuesday :: Sept. 6th, 2011

06 Sep

As a way to get back into the swing of things I thought I would go with what I know.  Music is a first love and easy to share about.  I am looking forward to developing the art and practice of writing again.  It has been missed.

Mat Kearney | Young Love

This is probably the newest (and yet still a month old) album that I have spent any significant amount of time listening to.  (That’s what I get for moving).  Great sounds and I haven’t met anyone who doesn’t start moving some part of their body when they hear “Hey Mama”.

Matt Nathanson | Modern Love

This is a singer/songwriter who has a way of capturing a crowd with stories and charm in a live setting.  His music makes you want to find the girl of your dreams or hug the one you already have.

Owl City | This album came out in June, but my son will not stop listening to Alligator Sky, so if you haven’t heard it, enjoy.  It is quite catchy.  This video is oddly apocalyptic.

Ben Rector | Into the Morning

At the age of 24 Ben has already had much attention brought to him by winning song writing awards and invited on VH1 cruises.  His first EP drew much attention and some of his music can be found on noisetrade.

Leagues | Summer EP

Great lyrics, strong music, awesome summer pop.  The combination of Thad Cockrell and a handful of talented musicians from other groups makes Leagues my favorite of the list right now.

Happy Listening.

 

5 responses to “(not so) New Tune Tuesday :: Sept. 6th, 2011

  1. erin

    September 6, 2011 at 10:45 am

    bachman, before i knew you in 1999, you gave me cademon’s call (via JR), then maroon5 and John Mayer in 2002, followed quickly in 2003 with Jason Mraz, then marc broussard … the list goes on and on and on. i am glad you’re back on the musical recommendation bandwagon – you speak, i listen, and then listen.

     
    • The Until Matters

      September 6, 2011 at 4:14 pm

      First, thank you. You are too kind. Secondly, I must be fair and say that you were my Ben Rector connection. Though I had heard of him, I had not heard him till you. So let’s just keep complimenting each other. 3. We need to talk soon regarding YL and also someone that is coming your way.

       
  2. Erin McNaughton

    September 6, 2011 at 10:24 pm

    Great choices! Ben Rector (love Into the Morning), Matt Nathanson, and Mat Kearney are wonderful (although Kearney’s new album is more upbeat than past ones, so it’s still growing on me). My sister is obsessed with Owl City, so I’m at a point where I can’t listen to it anymore. I don’t know Leagues, so I’ll have to check them out, especially since they’re your favorite!
    Do you know Jon McLaughlin? He’d fall into the same categorty as the rest and he released a new album today, Forever If Ever, and it’s great!

     
    • The Until Matters

      September 8, 2011 at 10:09 am

      Love Jon McLaughlin but did not know of a new album. Thanks for the heads up.

       
      • Erin McNaughton

        September 8, 2011 at 10:18 am

        You’re welcome. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it. 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
